Skip To Main Content

Holderness News

Prize Day 2023: Celebrating Academic Achievement and Community Impact
Andrew Herring
Holderness School’s community gathered on Livermore Common on Friday, May 26 to celebrate Prize Day and honor the personal growth, community contribution, and intellectual grit shown by our students.
While there simply is not enough time to honor all of our students deserving of recognition for their achievements, we are proud of the work and effort displayed by each and every student this year. It is just as much of an honor to have been part of the many quieter, less heralded intellectual and community contributions that are daily earned in our classrooms and dormitories and along our paths. 

Congratulations to our award winners! 
The Kendall Book Prize Award  – Sarah Angevine 
The Kendall Book Prize is awarded to a student in eleventh grade who engages in academic life with lively intelligence and shows a creative commitment to community.
The Harvard Book Prize - Shengchen Evan Guan 
The Harvard Book Prize is given to a student who displays excellence in scholarship and high character. 
The MJ LaFoley Award – Natalie Low 
The M.J. LaFoley Award is given in memory of Martin John LaFoley, a former student, to a student in the ninth of tenth grades who, in the opinion of the Head of School and faculty, exemplifies outstanding character and integrity, and who puts forth exceptional effort and spirit in all aspects of Holderness life.
Coach’s Awards – Declan Rhatigan, Andrea Turner 
The Ford B. Hinman Coach’s Award is awarded to the student or students who in the opinion of the Director of Athletics and the Head of School has contributed the most to the spirit of Holderness on and off the field.
The Faculty Award – Tommy Raymond, Caroline Simmonds
The Faculty Award is awarded, by special vote of the faculty, to the graduating senior who has made a significant contribution to the life of the school.
Bob Brooks Award – Ariana Anastos 
The Bob Brooks Award is named for Bob Brooks, a.k.a. "Brooksie," who worked at Holderness School from 1980 – 1997, and served as equipment manager from 1985 – 1997.  This award is chosen by the ninth grade class for the senior(s) who played the biggest role in making Holderness School a home.
Webster Cup – Ella Cedrone, Hans Huber
The Webster Cup Award is the gift of a former Rector, the Rev. Lorin Webster, to be awarded for excellence in athletics.
Ned Gillette Spirit Award – Bryce Patterson
The Ned Gillette Spirit Award is awarded annually to the graduating senior whose career at Holderness best reflects Ned Gillette's genuine leadership, competitive attitude, and spirit of adventure. The Headmaster, in consultation with members of the faculty, selects the recipient.
Richard C. Gallop Award for Creative and Community Leadership – Maya Clemente 
The Richard C. Gallop Award for Creative and Community Leadership is awarded to a senior student chosen by the Headmaster and the faculty. This award is given in memory of Richard Gallop, a parent and trustee, to a senior who demonstrates both creative and community leadership as one willing and able to assert those qualities which further the unique sense of community at Holderness.
Dana H. Rowe Memorial Award – Luyao Jessica Shi
The Dana H. Rowe Memorial Award is given to that girl in the senior class who has made an outstanding contribution to the life of the School through her academic achievement, her participation in sports and extracurricular activities, and her love of life.
Haslam Award – Hannah Donahue
The Haslam Award is given by the School yearly in memory of the Rev. George Haslam, a former master, for excellence in Athletics, Sportsmanship, and Scholarship.
Dallas Award – Evan Plunkett
The Dallas Award is given in memory of John Thompson Dallas, a former Bishop of New Hampshire, to the senior who clearly exemplified loyalty and dedication to the Judeo-Christian ideals of the School.
Clarkson Award – Lian Aviles
The Clarkson Award is given to the student in the junior or senior year who, in the opinion of the Faculty, has used their abilities to the fullest in the total context of the life of the School, and who has shown that they can persevere.
Marshall Award – Yanyi Terry Zhu
The Marshall Award is given in memory of the Rev. Robert Eliot Marshall, a former Rector of the School, for outstanding contribution to the life of the School.
Don and Pat Henderson Award – Nina Grappone 
The Don and Pat Henderson Award is given to the senior who, in the opinion of the Faculty and Head of School, has given of themselves most freely and generously to the welfare of the community and has exhibited leadership.
Walter Alvin Frost Award – Jackson Ehwa 
The Walter Alvin Frost Award is given in memory of a former student to the student who, in the judgment of the Head of School and faculty, reached the highest standards of the School.
The Academic Award
Caroline Simmonds
The Academic Award is given to the senior with the highest GPA. 
Math Department Awards
The Elementary Math Prize – Georgia Fisher-Smith
The Advanced Math Prize – Caroline Simmonds
The Rensselaer Medal – Alexander Doyle
This prestigious award has been awarded since 1916 to one student in any given high school and is designed to recognize that student’s strength and success in the fields of mathematics and science.
Science Department Awards
The Science Prize – Bryce Patterson 
The Spargo Award For Science – Caroline Simmonds
The Anderson Scholarship -Maxwell Tong
The Harry G. Anderson Jr. Memorial Scholarship is to a member of the junior class who, in the opinion of the Headmaster, in consultation with the math and science faculty, demonstrates outstanding initiative, curiosity and competence in the fields of astronomy, physics, chemistry, mathematics and related disciplines.
Arts Department Awards
The David Lockwood Music Award – Maximillian Riccio Perez
The William Bradford Whiting Prize For Art – Tingan Diane Fu
The Ceramics Prize – Eliza Erlacher, Ava Hosmer, Cece Robinson, Bella Romero
The Photography Prize – Maximillian Riccio Perez, Stella Regan
The Fiore Cup For Theater – John Blandford, Lian Aviles
Modern Language Department Awards
The Elementary French Prize – Yilin Samantha Zhang
The Advanced French Prize – Anna Metzner 
The Elementary Spanish Prize – Lillian Holland, Maeve Rhatigan
The Advanced Spanish Prize – Sophie Miller
The Elementary Chinese Prize – Leo Nagasaki
The Advanced Chinese Prize – Lindsay Sidore
History Department Awards
The Connor History Medal – Phatahdol Due Rojrachsombat
The Ashworth Award For Excellence In European History – Lindsay Sidore
The Ashworth Award For Excellence In United States History – Alexander Doyle
The Sean Glew History Prize – Maeve Rhatigan
Theology & Religious Studies Department Award
The Theology & Religious Studies Prize – Henry Hood
English Department Awards
The Joseph M. Massik English Prize – Phatadhol Due Rojrachsombat
The Writing Prize – Caroline Simmonds
The Robert Creeley Poetry Prize – George Fortin 
In always working towards the highest academic standards, the students recognized below have brought honor to the learning community and to the very principles of developed thought.  And it is through this work, in truth and honor, that they will bring justice to the world.
Class of 2023
  • Maya Clemente*
  • Hannah Donahue
  • Jackson Ehwa*
  • Terry Kim*
  • Maire LaRowe
  • Jake Pullen
  • Phatadhol Due Rojrachsombat
  • Timothy Ryan
  • Luyao Jessica Shi*
  • Caroline Simmonds*
  • Pendhamma Spencer Sindhusen 
*Inducted as juniors in 2022
Class of 2024
  • Sarah Angevine 
  • Alexander Doyle
  • Evan Gras 
  • Shengchen Evan Guan
  • Vivian Kennell 
  • Alexander Roguet 
  • Evan Vaillancourt 
  • Ziying Ally Wang 
  • Martha Yam

More Latest News

School House in the Fall
Subscribe For Updates

Never Miss A Holdyminute