Skip To Main Content
Orientation Camp 2020
Holderness News
Prize Day 2022: Celebrating Community Contribution and Academic Achievement
Andrew Herring

Holderness School’s community gathered on Livermore Common on Saturday, May 21 to celebrate Prize Day and honor the personal growth, community contribution, and intellectual grit shown by our students.

While there simply is not enough time to honor all of our students deserving of recognition for their achievements, we are proud of the work and effort displayed by each and every student this year. It is just as much of an honor to have been part of the many quieter, less heralded intellectual and community contributions that are daily earned in our classrooms and dormitories and along our paths. 

Congratulations to our award winners! 

The Harvard Book Prize – Caroline Simmonds
The Harvard Book Prize is given to a student who displays excellence in scholarship and high character. 

The M.J. LaFoley Award – Henry Hood
The M.J. LaFoley Award is given in memory of Martin John LaFoley, a former student, to a student in the ninth of tenth grades who, in the opinion of the Head of School and faculty, exemplifies outstanding character and integrity, and who puts forth exceptional effort and spirit in all aspects of Holderness life

The Kendall Book Prize – Jackson Ehwa, Luyao Jessica Shi
The Kendall Book Prize is awarded to a student in eleventh grade who engages in academic life with lively intelligence and shows a creative commitment to community.

The Faculty Award – Sage Amaliksen
The Faculty Award is awarded, by special vote of the faculty, to the graduating senior who has made a significant contribution to the life of the school.

Bob Brooks Award – Matt DuBois, Allie Eichler
The Bob Brooks Award is named for Bob Brooks, a.k.a. "Brooksie," who worked at Holderness School from 1980 – 1997, and served as equipment manager from 1985 – 1997.  This award is chosen by the ninth grade class for the senior(s) who played the biggest role in making Holderness School a home.

Coach’s Award  – Gracy Murphy, Russ Hutchinson
The Ford B. Hinman Coach’s Award is awarded to the student or students who in the opinion of the Director of Athletics and the Head of School has contributed the most to the spirit of Holderness on and off the field.

The Webster Cup – Cooper Boulanger, Emma Reynolds 
The Webster Cup Award is the gift of a former Rector, the Rev. Lorin Webster, to be awarded for excellence in athletics

The Ned Gillette Spirit Award – Margot Roguet
The Ned Gillette Spirit Award is awarded annually to the graduating senior whose career at Holderness best reflects Ned Gillette's genuine leadership, competitive attitude, and spirit of adventure. The Headmaster, in consultation with members of the faculty, selects the recipient.

The Richard C. Gallop Award – Sacha Levine
The Richard C. Gallop Award for Creative and Community Leadership is awarded to a senior student chosen by the Headmaster and the faculty. This award is given in memory of Richard Gallop, a parent and trustee, to a senior who demonstrates both creative and community leadership as one willing and able to assert those qualities which further the unique sense of community at Holderness.

The Dana H. Rowe Memorial Award – Yifan Judy Yin
The Dana H. Rowe Memorial Award is given to that girl in the senior class who has made an outstanding contribution to the life of the School through her academic achievement, her participation in sports and extracurricular activities, and her love of life.

The Haslam Award – Rachel Storey
 The Haslam Award is given by the School yearly in memory of the Rev. George Haslam, a former master, for excellence in Athletics, Sportsmanship, and Scholarship

The Dallas Award – Fiona Hood
The Dallas Award is given in memory of John Thompson Dallas, a former Bishop of New Hampshire, to the senior who clearly exemplified loyalty and dedication to the Judeo-Christian ideals of the School.

The Clarkson Award – Jamir Harvey
The Clarkson Award is given to the student in the junior or senior year who, in the opinion of the Faculty, has used their abilities to the fullest in the total context of the life of the School, and who has shown that they can persevere.

The Don And Pat Henderson Award – Wells Gillette
The Don and Pat Henderson Award is given to the senior who, in the opinion of the Faculty and Head of School, has given of themselves most freely and generously to the welfare of the community and has exhibited leadership.

The Marshall Award – Charlie Dobson
The Marshall Award is given in memory of the Rev. Robert Eliot Marshall, a former Rector of the School, for outstanding contribution to the life of the School.

The Walter Alvin Frost Award – Maizley Tone
The Walter Alvin Frost Award is given in memory of a former student to the student who, in the judgment of the Head of School and faculty, reached the highest standards of the School.



Math Department Awards
The Elementary Math Prize – Caleigh Weig
The Advanced Math Prize – Papon Tan Lapate
The Rensselaer Medal – Caroline Simmonds
This prestigious award has been awarded since 1916 to one student in any given high school and is designed to recognize that student’s strength and success in the fields of mathematics and science.

Science Department Awards 
The Science Prize – Anna Testorf
The Spargo Award For Science – Natdanai Next Ongarjvaja
The Anderson Scholarship – Luyao Jessica Shi
The Harry G. Anderson Jr. Memorial Scholarship is to a member of the junior class who, in the opinion of the Headmaster, in consultation with the math and science faculty, demonstrates outstanding initiative, curiosity and competence in the fields of astronomy, physics, chemistry, mathematics and related disciplines.

Arts Department Awards
The David Lockwood Music Award – Oliver Kiker
The William Bradford Whiting Prize For Art – Tingan Dianne Fu
The Ceramics Prize – Sage Amaliksen
The Photography Prize – Valeria Santiago Dedos
The Fiore Cup For Theatre – Maya Clemente

Foreign Language Department Awards
The Elementary French Prize – Rio Gladchun
The Advanced French Prize – Luyao Jessica Shi
The Elementary Spanish Prize – Caleigh Weig, Grady Taylor
The Advanced Spanish Prize – Caroline Simmonds
The Elementary Chinese Prize – Sukhdev Josh Grewal
The Advanced Chinese Prize – Addison McMillen

History Department Awards 
The Connor History Medal – Annecy Kagan
The Ashworth Award For Excellence In European History – Yanyi Terry Zhu
The Ashworth Award For Excellence In United States History – Caroline Simmonds
The Sean Glew History Prize – Leon Huang

Theology & Religious Studies Department Award
The Theology & Religious Studies Prize – Hugo Eneqvist

English Department Awards
The Joseph M. Massik English Prize – Rachel Storey
The Writing Prize – Emma Reynolds
The Robert Creeley Poetry Prize – Sacha Levine


In always working towards the highest academic standards, the students recognized below have brought honor to the learning community and to the very principles of developed thought.  And it is through this work, in truth and honor, that they will bring justice to the world.

Last year’s inductees of the Class of 2022:
Annecy Isabella Kagan
Yishan Lisa Lin
Ali Rose Marcus
Aldwyn Moynihan
Matthew David Pollini
Margot Sophie Roguet
Rachel Margaret Storey
Yifan Judy Yin

This year’s inductees of the Class of 2022:
Sage Amaliksen
Donovan Cole
Kate Gervais
Fiona Hood
Annika Howard
Papon Tan Lapate
Natdanai Next Ongarjvaja
Inthuan Bua Pungsomwong
Anna Testorf

The inductees of the Class of 2022:
Maya Clemente
Jackson Ehwa
Terry Kim
Luyao Jessica Shi
Caroline Simmonds
Yanyi Terry Zhu

See All The Photos From Prize Day Here

More Latest News

School House in the Fall
Subscribe For Updates

Never Miss A Holdyminute