About
School History

Rev. Lorin Webster (1892-1922)

No stranger to the Holderness campus, Rev. Webster re-joined the faculty in 1892 after spending a year at Holderness under the Rev. Gray.
No stranger to the Holderness campus, Rev. Webster re-joined the faculty in 1892 after spending a year at Holderness under the Rev. Gray. Webster was an adept businessman who, during his many decades at Holderness, saw many repairs made to the campus. A lover of music, Rev. Webster composed a school song to be sung at ball games as well as spearheaded many musical societies and clubs.

Rev. Webster also pushed for facilities for students to explore their athletic interests, and, as a result, by 1902, a baseball diamond, a football field, and a running track were laid out and time was made in the day for athletic practices. A decade later, Carpenter Memorial Gymnasium was dedicated. Despite the toll that the first World War took on the school, Rev. Webster was determined to keep the spirit of the school alive, which he did until his retirement in 1922.
Back
Holderness School
33 Chapel Lane, Holderness NH, 03245
mail P.O Box 1879 Plymouth, NH 03264-1879
phone (603) 536-1257